Gunther Guns Facebook
Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest news and specials!




Home > Q & A
Questions and Answers

How old do you have to be to purchase a handgun in California?

21 years old.




How old do you have to be to purchase a rifle or shotgun in California?

18 years old.




What is the waiting period in California?

California imposes a 10-day waiting period before a firearm can be released to a buyer or transferee. This 10-day (10 consecutive 24-hour blocks) starts once the DROS is inputted and a time stamp generated.



How do I get a Firearm Safety Certificate?

To get a Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC) you must score at least 75% (23 correct answers out of 30 questions) on the Firearm Safety Certificate Test covering handgun and long gun safety and basic firearms laws. This true/false and multiple choice test can be taken at Gunther Guns.

The fee for taking the Firearm Safety Certificate Test and obtaining a Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC) is twenty five dollars ($25). The $25 fee entitles you to take the test twice if necessary. If you fail the test the first time, you may retake another version of the test from the same DOJ Certified Instructor at Gunther Guns without any additional fee after 24 hours have elapsed.

How do I study for the Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC) Test?

Click here to view Free Firearm Safety Certificate Study Guide.



I saw a handgun in a gun magazine. How do I check if it is a model of handgun that I am allowed to buy in California?

The Department of Justice of California requires that manufacturers put new handguns for sale in California through additional testing. Due to this added expense required to pass each individual handgun model, manufacturers will not try to get each handgun they produce onto this Roster of Handguns Certified for Sale. Some are over California's 10 round capacity limit anyhow. You can save yourself disappointment and time if you check the Roster of Handguns Certified for Sale before you start getting too excited about a handgun. Click here to check the Roster of Handguns Certified for Sale. Handguns can come and go off this list on a weekly basis.

Please note that the Roster of Handguns Certified for Sale does not apply to private party transfers, curio/relic handguns, certain single-action revolvers, and pawn/consignment returns.



How do I get a Carry Concealed Weapon Permit?

If you are a law abiding resident of San Diego County, you may apply with the San Diego County Sheriff's Department here: Click here to view Sheriff's website.



Before I start the process of purchasing a firearm, I'd like to check if I will pass the background check. What do I do?

You can inquire directly with the Department of Justice. Here's their form: Click here for a Personal Firearms Eligibility Check (PFEC) form. For more information, click here: Click here FAQ on Personal Firearms Eligibility Check (PFEC).



Who is not allowed to buy or possess a firearm?

Click here to view Prohibited Categories listing.



Can I give a firearm to my adult son or daughter? Can I give a firearm to my adult grandson or granddaughter?

You may give an adult son, adult daughter, adult grandson or adult granddaughter a firearm as long as he/she is not in a prohibited category and the firearm is a legal firearm to possess. Click here to view Prohibited Categories listing.

The transfer of a firearm between a parent and adult child or a grandparent and adult grandchild is exempt from the dealer transfer requirement (i.e. you do not need to go through a firearms dealer such as Gunther Guns).

If the firearm is a handgun, you must submit a Report of Operation of Law or Intra-Familial Handgun Transaction and $19 fee to the DOJ within 30 days. Click here to view Report of Operation of Law or Intra-Familial Handgun Transaction form.

Assault weapons may not be transferred in this fashion. See Penal Code section 12285, subdivision (b).

(PC section 12078(c))



Can I give a firearm to my spouse or registered domestic partner in California?

You may give your spouse or registered domestic partner a firearm as long as he/she is not in a prohibited category and the firearm is a legal firearm to possess. Click here to view Prohibited Categories listing.

The transfer of a firearm between husband and wife or registered domestic partners is exempt from the dealer transfer requirement (i.e. you do not need to go through a firearms dealer such as Gunther Guns).

If the firearm is a handgun, you must submit a Report of Operation of Law or Intra-Familial Handgun Transaction and $19 fee to the DOJ within 30 days. Click here to view Report of Operation of Law or Intra-Familial Handgun Transaction form.

Assault weapons may not be transferred in this fashion. See Penal Code section 12285, subdivision (b). (PC section 12076(f), 12078(i))


How do I dispose of old ammunition (bullets)?

You can drop off old ammunition at your local police department. We recommend that you call first.
Note: Gunther Guns does not purchase used ammunition and cannot legally resell used ammunition.

Serving Carlsbad, Encinitas, Olivenhain, Rancho Sante Fe, San Marcos, Vista and Oceanside.


Where can I learn more about handguns or take a course on pistol safety and operation?

You can take an NRA pistol course right here at Gunther Guns. All courses are taught by NRA certified instructors. Click Here To Find Out More
Where can I learn more about the new laws in California concerning AW (assault weapons) AR15 and magazines?

Click Here To Find Out More
Copyright ©  Gunther Guns. All Rights Reserved.
Built with Volusion